you want revolution

1.     What’s my impact if workwear is sustainable?

The market for workwear in Germany is 1 Billion euros (2019). That includes all work clothes for the different occupations, e.g., craft, construction, agriculture/ market gardening, medical/ care, food industry, and hotel/ catering. The market splits into rental service and purchase. Workwear is different than fashion or streetwear: Hygiene requirements with higher washing temperatures, abrasion resistance for concrete jobs, or work with heavy machinery and functional design to store your tools.

What’s the market share of sustainable workwear? There’s no reliable data today. Looking at global cotton production allows conclusions. The annual cotton yield is 25 Mio tons, and the crop surface is 30 Mio hectares. Less than 1% is grown under ecological standards (2019).

Fully sustainable are only organically grown plant fibers like cotton, linen, or hemp. The garment must be of high quality, robust manufactured, and timeless design. Recycling waste clothes is inefficient today, too complex, and expensive. But in theory, that could be sustainable. Plastic from recycled waste like old fishing nets counts as sustainable but still is too inefficient and costly to work in high volumes.

The impact of workwear consumption is massive and concerns the entire garment lifecycle: growth of fibers, production of garment, lifetime, and use and disposal. Fabrics for workwear contain mostly a minimum of 50% plastics. The average removal is residual waste in landfills or combustion. Another critical point in the mass market workwear is the working conditions in the factories. Better social standards are instead the exception.

Becoming aware of the consequences of “just” shopping is a good start. Changing your habits is the next step. Every action here has a significant impact on primarily global structures.

2.     Which workwear is best for my job? The three different kinds of outfits

You’re outside a lot, working in all weather conditions, and you need workwear that functions best? There are 3 kinds:

A)     Industry: Construction workers, farmers, market gardeners, and partly crafters work a lot outside and need robust clothes. With climate functions protecting you from the cold or ventilation in heat.

B)     Special cloth for dedicated professions: cut protection for forestry work or industrial tree climbers, heat/fire-resistant cloth for fire people, or welding. For most unique requirements, there are classifications and norms, e.g., EN ISO 11612:2015 Protective gear against heat and flames or EN ISO 14404 knee protection for work on knees.

C)    Season Cloth: next to industry-specific designs, there’s a work cloth for cold or extra light summer cloth, partly with ventilation known from the outdoor market.

3.     Is sustainable workwear always the better choice? All pros and cons

Pro:

  • sustainable workwear is equally robust. It depends on the composition of the materials and the usage. The exchange of fabrics with organic material or recycled fibers will result in comparable quality. That should also result in equal classification. Pure plant-based material must be extra robust, tight weave, and heavy quality.
  • Persistence: High-quality fabrics and best craft result in extended usage and thus sustainability. How easy is the cleaning of mostly dirty equipment? Is a standard machine washing program enough, or do you need different treatment of stains or multiple cleanings?
  • Circular economy: the aim is to keep the product alive, using recycling, upcycling (reuse of fibers), or a second-hand market. Or the disposal at life end is possible by composting, which requires 100% plant-based natural fibers, not contaminated.

The cons:

  • Specialist workwear is protected at dedicated parts, e.g., knees with Kevlar or Cordura. These synthetic fibers offer exceptional persistence for cut protection and abrasion. There’s no sustainable equivalent.
  • Variety: the workwear market is enormous; the call for sustainable workwear is yet more limited. Single industries like craft, agriculture, and market gardening will find products easier since their requirements are more standard. Other professions that work primarily indoors, like care or catering, should have a good offering already.
  • Classification & norms: the sustainable part of workwear is in its beginnings, years behind the fashion. Safety classification and standards are thus not entirely applicable.
  • Prices: Organic crops without pesticides and no genetically modified seeds cost more. The certification of fabrics and products also costs. “Fast Fashion” with cheap mass products is a negative trend in all fashion segments, including workwear. 

4.     These checks are vital if you choose sustainable workwear

Check your actual equipment. What can be substituted by sustainable products when next shopping is unavoidable? What pieces of your workwear do you like best, what supports your jobs? The longer you wear each piece, the better its footprint.

  • Which materials contain your clothes? Natural plant fibers, plastics like polyester, or a mix? Do you require reinforced material? Even recycled plastic has a terrible balance. The less plastic content, the more sustainable.
  • Special workwear: which DIN-Norm or PPE (personal protective equipment) must your workwear meet?
  • Fitting/Design: can you deliberately choose, or is there a requirement? Pant, BIB, Overall, short pants, etc.
  • Function: what supports your work? Knee pads, folding rule pocket, cell phone pocket, or fixation for extra toolbag?
  • Waterproof or fire resistant?
  • Sizes: only buy the correct size, there are regular, short and long sizes for women and men.

5.     These 8 eco labels help you check for sustainable cloth

https://www.ecolabelindex.com/ecolabels/?st=category, textile Global Ecolabeling Network is a global non-profit Organisation

A)     GOTS strict eco standard, fair production

B)     Fairtrade Product label for cotton: Label for fair trade

C)    IVN: strict eco-label for cloth, only natural fibers

D)    Green Button: eco-standard, fair production

E)     Made in Green by Oeko-Tex: Focus on low polluted production

F)     Bluesign label: Focus on low polluted & fair textile production

G)    OCS (Organic Content Standard): eco-standard

H)    EU Ecolabel: eco-standard for textiles and many other product groups

Significant steps towards sustainability for textile production are the complete surrender of pesticides, genetically modified seeds, and reduction of water consumption. Worldwide there are many eco-labels. They all have different strict requirements on products. The German and EU market mostly use the named eight and many more like Naturland Textil or Green Shape by VAUDE. You need to check the label itself or send a request for details to the brand.

The terms “eco” and “bio” are well protected for food and crops. For textiles, there’s no such protection, same for “sustainable,” “fair,” or “eco-friendly,” etc.

6.     Workwear shopping: spare these 3 mistakes

Do you want a sustainable lifestyle, if best for everything? Start with your cloth, including your workwear. Avoid these 3 things:

  • Speed shopping: you have an important meeting, but no clean, proper work pants? Check your material; maybe laundry will do the job or a minor repair with needle and thread? Check your wardrobe before you start spontaneous shopping. Don’t do unnecessary shopping. Do your shopping with a clear plan, time, and ease.
  • Wrong size: you search for a pant; you know your product from earlier shopping? Is your size not in stock? Or the design you want as a woman is only available for men? Only buy the correct size and take a complete check of sizing charts or automated measurement tools. A man’s pants can not fit a woman’s body; bodies are mostly too diverse. Your work material must fit without compromise.
  • Fashion styles: also, workwear has started with more fashion elements lately. Classical designs offer prolonged use; we wear them more. They are easy to combine. Seasonal styles with eye-catching colors are fun but quickly too much. The longer and more frequent you wear each piece, the better for you, your savings, and the environment.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

you want revolution

1.      Warum es einen riesen Unterschied macht, wenn deine Arbeitskleidung nachhaltig ist

Der Markt für Arbeitskleidung in Deutschland ist ca. 1 Mrd. Euro (2019). Das beinhaltet ganz allgemein die Kleidung für Berufsgruppen wie Handwerk, Bauwirtschaft, Landwirtschaft / Gartenbau, Medizin/ Pflege, Lebensmittelindustrie als auch Hotel/ Gastro. Der Markt teilt sich in Mietservice und Kauf. Die Anforderungen an Berufskleidung sind höher als bei Fashion oder Streetwear: Hygieneanforderungen mit höheren Reinigungstemperaturen, Abriebfestigkeit des Materials für Betonarbeiten oder mit schweren Maschinen oder Funktionalität für Aufbewahrung von Werkzeug. 

Wie hoch ist der nachhaltige Anteil im Markt? Hierzu gibt es noch keine verlässlichen Zahlen. Man kann Rückschlüsse von der weltweiten Baumwollproduktion ziehen. Jedes Jahr bauen wir ca. 30 Mio. Hektar Baumwolle an mit einem Ertrag von 25 Mio. Tonnen Baumwolle. Weniger als 1% davon werden ökologisch angebaut (Jahr 2019). 

Wirklich nachhaltig sind biologisch angebaute Stofffasern wie Baumwolle, Leinen oder Hanf, mit einer hochwertigen, langlebigen Verarbeitung und zeitlosen Designs. Recycelte Altstoffe sind theoretisch nachhaltig, werden aber fast nicht verwendet, zu komplex und teuer. Kunststoffe aus recyceltem Material wie z.B. alte Fischernetze aus dem Meer oder Plastikmüll gelten als nachhaltig, haben allerdings eine eher schlechte Bilanz. 

Die Auswirkungen des Konsums von Arbeitskleidung sind gravierend und betreffen den gesamten Lebenszyklus: Anbau der Stofffasern, Herstellung von Stoff und Kleidung, Lebensdauer des Produkts und Entsorgung. Der Plastikanteil im Stoff ist bei Arbeitskleidung meist sehr hoch, häufig über 50%. Eine Entsorgung findet standardmäßig über den Restmüll oder „land-fill“ statt, auf Deponien und in der Müllverbrennung. Ein weiterer wichtiger Punkt bei dem Massenmarkt Arbeitskleidung sind die Arbeitsbedingungen in der Produktion: gute soziale Arbeitgeber sind leider nicht der Standard. 

Wichtig ist zuerst das Bewusstsein und dann das Handeln: mein Konsum hat große Auswirkungen, meistens auf sehr globale Strukturen. Je lokaler ein Produkt, umso besser für die Nachhaltigkeit. 

2.      Welche Arbeitskleidung passt zu meinem Job? Die 3 verschiedenen Arten von Outfits

Du bist viel draußen unterwegs bei Wind und Wetter, und brauchst Arbeitskleidung, die funktioniert? Es gibt 3 Arten:

A) Branche: Baustelle, Landwirtschaft, Gartenbau und zum Teil Handwerk arbeiten primär draußen und brauchen robuste Kleidung. Am besten klimatisierend als Schutz bei Kälte oder mit Belüftung bei Hitze. 

B) Spezialkleidung für bestimmte Berufsgruppen. Das kann Schnittschutz für Forstarbeit oder Baumkletterei sein, Hitze/Feuerbeständige Kleidung für z.B. Feuerwehr oder Schweißen. Für die meisten Spezialanforderungen gibt es Klassifizierungen und Normen, z.B. EN ISO 11612:2015 Schutzkleidung zum Schutz gegen Hitze und Flammen oder EN ISO 14404 Knieschutz für Arbeiten in kniender Haltung

C) Saison-Kleidung: Es gibt zusätzlich auch Arbeitskleidung für Kälte oder extra-leichte Sommerkleidung, zum Teil mit Belüftung ähnlich wie wir es im Outdoor-Bereich kennen. 

3.      Ist nachhaltige Arbeitskleidung immer die bessere Wahl? Alle Vor- und Nachteile auf einen Blick

Die Vorteile: 

  • Nachhaltige Arbeitskleidung ist im Grunde gleichwertig robust. Es kommt auf die Zusammensetzung des Materials an, und auf den Einsatz. Wird die Nachhaltigkeit erreicht, indem die Baumwolle durch Bio-Baumwolle ersetzt wird und der Polyester-Anteil durch recycelte Fasern/Kunststoff? Völlig gleichwertig, sollte sich auch in der Klassifizierung spiegeln. Material aus 100% Naturfasern muss sehr robust sein, dicht gewebt und von hoher Qualität.
  • Langlebigkeit: Hochwertige Stoffe und saubere Verarbeitung sorgen für eine lange Tragezeit und werden dadurch nachhaltig. Wie einfach lassen sich die gerade eher schmutzigen Hosen waschen? Reicht die normale Maschinenwäsche, oder muss man mit viel Chemie die Flecken vorher behandeln, oder mehrfach extra heiß waschen? 
  • Kreislaufwirtschaft: Das Ziel ist hier, ein Produkt im Kreislauf zu erhalten, durch Recycling und Upcycling die Fasern z.B. wiederzuverwenden. Oder die Entsorgung ist am Lebensende über Kompostierung möglich. Das funktioniert, wenn die Bekleidung aus 100% natürlichen, unbelasteten Fasern besteht.

Die Nachteile: 

  • Spezial-Arbeitskleidung ist an belasteten Stellen z.B. Knien mit Kevlar oder Cordura verstärkt. Diese synthetischen Fasern bieten besondere Festigkeit bei Schnittschutz und Abrieb, und sind bisher nicht als nachhaltig erhältlich. 
  • Auswahl: Der Markt für Arbeitskleidung ist riesig, die Auswahl an nachhaltigen Produkten noch sehr begrenzt. Einzelne Bereiche wie Handwerk, Landwirtschaft und Gartenbau, wo die Anforderungen eher im Standard liegen, finden leichter Angebote. Auch für Arbeitskleidung im Innenbereich wie Pflege oder Gastronomie sollte ein Austausch hin zu nachhaltigen Produkten bereits gut möglich sein.
  • Klassifizierung & Normen: der nachhaltige Bereich der Arbeitskleidung ist in den Kinderschuhen. Entsprechend ist die Klassifizierung noch nicht überall da, auch wenn die Produkte bereits nachhaltig verfügbar sind. 
  • Preise: Der Anbau von ökologisch erzeugten Pflanzenfasern ist teurer als von konventionellen. Pflanzenkulturen dürfen nicht mit den Standardmitteln gespritzt werden, es wird zum Teil mechanisch gearbeitet. Auf Gentechnik wird verzichtet.  Hinzu kommt die Zertifizierung der Stoffe und Produkte. „Fast Fashion“ mit Massen an billigen Produkten ist ein negativer Trend, der auch den Arbeitsbereich nicht verschont. 

4.      Darauf musst du achten, wenn du nachhaltige Arbeitskleidung aussuchst

Mach den Check, ob deine aktuelle Arbeitskleidung durch nachhaltige Produkte ausgetauscht werden kann, wenn du für Ersatz sorgen musst. Schau dir deine Arbeitskleidung genau an, was trägst du gern, was hilft dir bei den Jobs? Je länger du jedes einzelne Teil trägst, umso nachhaltiger.

  • Welches Material steckt in der Kleidung? Sind es natürliche Pflanzenfasern, Kunststoff z.B. Polyester, oder ein Mix? Muss es verstärktes Material sein? Je weniger Kunststoff, umso nachhaltiger. Auch recyceltes PVC hat eine sehr schlechte Energiebilanz.
  • Spezial-Bedarf: Welche DIN-Norm oder PSA (persönliche Schutzausrüstung) muss deine Kleidung erfüllen? 
  • Passform: kannst du frei wählen, oder gibt es für deinen Arbeitseinsatz spezielle Anforderungen? Bundhose, Latzhose, kurze Hose, Overall usw.
  • Funktion: was unterstützt deine Arbeit? Kniepolster, Zollstocktasche, Handytasche oder eine Befestigung für extra Werkzeugtaschen? 
  • Wasserdicht oder feuerfest?
  • Größen: kaufe die richtige Größe, es gibt Normal-, Kurz- und Langgrößen für Frauen und Männer

5.      An diesen 8 Siegeln erkennst du, ob deine Kleidung wirklich nachhaltig ist

Textiles Global Ecolabeling Network ist eine globale non-profit Organisation. https://www.ecolabelindex.com/ecolabels/?st=category

A)     GOTS-Siegel Strenger Öko-Standard, faire Produktion

B)     Fairtrade Produkt Siegel für Baumwolle: Siegel für fairen Handel

C)     IVN Strengen Öko-Kleidungs-Siegel, nur Naturfasern

D)     Grüner Knopf: Öko-Standard, faire Produktion

E)     Made in Green by Oeko-Tex: Fokus auf schadstoffarme Textilproduktion

F)      Bluesign Siegel: Fokus auf schadstoffarme Textilproduktion, faire Produktion

G)     OCS (Organic Content Standard): Öko-Standard

H)     EU Ecolabel: Öko-Standard für Textil und viele andere Produkte

Weltweit gibt es viele Ökosiegel. Sie haben unterschiedliche Anforderungen an die jeweiligen Produkte. Bei Bekleidung haben sich aktuell die o.g. Siegel in Deutschland und Europa durchgesetzt, aber es gibt auch viele andere, z.B. Naturland Textil oder Green Shape von VAUDE. Hier hilft ein Check des Siegels oder eine Anfrage beim Hersteller zu Details. Wichtige Stellschrauben hin zur Nachhaltigkeit sind Verzicht auf Pestizide und Gentechnik und Reduktion des Wasserverbrauchs.

Die Begriffe „Bio“ und „Öko“ sind bei Lebensmitteln streng geschützt. Bei Textilien sind diese Begriffe rechtlich nicht geschützt, genauso wenig die Begriffe „nachhaltig“, „fair“ oder „umweltfreundlich“.

6.      Diese 3 Fehler solltest du beim Kauf vermeiden

Du willst einen nachhaltigen Konsum, am besten in allen Bereichen? Fange bei deiner Kleidung an, und beziehe deine Arbeitskleidung mit ein. Vermeide diese Fehler:

  • Schnellkäufe: du hast in Kürze einen wichtigen Termin, aber keine saubere, ordentliche Arbeitshose? Prüfe dein Material, reicht eventuell die Waschmaschine zur Auffrischung oder eine kleine Reparatur mit Nadel und Faden? Vor dem spontanen Neukauf solltest du alles einmal durchsehen, damit du unnötige Käufe vermeidest. Und alle Käufe am besten geplant mit Zeit und Ruhe machen.
  • Falsche Größe: du willst eine bestimmte Hose, kennst dein Modell, hast es vielleicht schon mal gekauft? Deine Größe ist nicht im Shop? Oder, das Modell was du als Frau willst, gibt es nur für Männer. Kaufe nur deine passende Größe, nimm dir die Zeit für den Check von Größentabellen oder automatischen Größenfindungs-Tools. Dein Arbeitsmaterial muss passen ohne Kompromiss. Eine Männerhose kann Frauen leider nicht wirklich passen, dafür sind die Körper meist zu verschieden geformt.
  • Ausgefallene Styles: klassische Designs bieten eine lange Nutzung, wir sehen uns nicht satt. Sie sind leicht zu kombinieren. Saisonale Styles mit auffälligen, knallbunten Details sind zur Abwechslung nett, leider hat man davon schnell zu viel. Und wenn gefühlt jeder mit „meiner“ Hose rumläuft, finde ich das auch nicht so toll.Je länger du ein Teil trägst, umso nachhaltiger ist die Bilanz. Und umso besser für dich, spart Geld und hilft der Umwelt.

Bemerkungen (0)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.